Back Home
September 22, 2020

AFSCME Endorsements: 2020 General Election


The 2020 General Election provides a historic opportunity to build a new future for our state and our nation. AFSCME Illinois PEOPLE has endorsed the following candidates who will fight not just for workers’ rights but the health, safety and dignity of every human being.

Election Day is November 3, and early voting runs in most counties through November 2. Click here to find your polling place.

Federal and state legislative incumbents are noted by inclusion of their AFSCME PEOPLE voting record. AFSCME does not typically endorse in uncontested races.


The proposed amendment grants the State authority to impose higher income tax rates on higher income levels, which is how the federal government and a majority of other states do it. The amendment would remove the portion of the Revenue Article of the Illinois Constitution that is sometimes referred to as the “flat tax,” that requires all taxes on income to be at the same rate. The amendment does not itself change tax rates. It gives the State the ability to impose higher tax rates on those with higher income levels and lower tax rates on those with middle or lower income levels. You are asked to decide whether the proposed amendment should become a part of the Illinois Constitution.


Joe Biden     VICE PRESIDENT: Kamala Harris

U.S. SENATE: Dick Durbin, 96%


District 1: Bobby Rush, 100%

District 2: Robin Kelly, 98%

District 3: Marie Newman

District 4: Jesus “Chuy” Garcia, 100%

District 5: Mike Quigley, 97%

District 6: Sean Casten, 100%

District 7: Danny Davis, 99%

District 8: Raja Krishnamoorthi, 100%

District 9: Jan Schakowsky, 100%

District 10: Brad Schneider, 90%

District 11: Bill Foster, 95%

District 12: Raymond Lenzi

District 13: Betsy Dirksen Londrigan

District 14: Lauren Underwood, 100%

District 17: Cheri Bustos, 95% 



5th Supreme Court District: Judy Cates

5th Appellate Court District: Sarah Smith

3rd Supreme Court District, Retain: Tom L. Kilbride


Senate District 10: Robert Martwick, 100%

Senate District 11: Celina Villanueva, 100%

Senate District 19: Michael Hastings, 100%

Senate District 25: Karina Villa, 100% in the House

Senate District 28: Laura Murphy, 94%

Senate District 31: Melinda Bush, 100%

Senate District 34: Steve Stadelman, 100%

Senate District 40: Patrick Joyce

Senate District 46: Dave Koehler, 100%

Senate District 49: Meg Cappel

Senate District 52: Scott Bennett, 94%


House District 16: Denyse Wang-Stoneback

House District 17: Jennifer Gong-Gershowitz, 100%

House District 18: Robyn Gabel, 100%

House District 19: Lindsey LaPointe

House District 20: Michelle Darbro

House District 35: Frances Hurley, 100%

House District 37: Michelle Fadeley

House District 38: Debbie Meyers-Martin, 94%

House District 41: Janet Rohr

House District 42: Ken Mejia-Beal

House District 45: Diane Pappas, 100%

House District 47: Jennifer Zordani

House District 48: Terra Cost Howard, 88%

House District 49: Maura Hirschauer

House District 51: Mary Edly-Allen, 94%

House District 54: Maggie Trevor

House District 55: Marty Moylan, 100%

House District 61: Joyce Mason, 100%

House District 62: Sam Yingling, 100%

House District 64: Leslie Armstrong-McLeod

House District 65: Martha Paschke

House District 66: Suzanne Ness

House District 67: Maurice West, 94%

House District 68: Dave Vella

House District 70: Paul Stoddard

House District 71: Joan Padilla

House District 72: Mike Halpin, 100%

House District 76: Lance Yednock, 94%

House District 77: Kathleen Willis, 100%

House District 78: Camille Lilly, 100%

House District 79: Charlene Eads

House District 80: Anthony DeLuca, 94%

House District 81: Anna Stava-Murray, 82%

House District 83: Barbara Hernandez, 100%

House District 85: Dagmara “Dee” Avelar

House District 90: Seth Wiggins

House District 92: Jehan Gordon-Booth, 100%

House District 94: Angel Smith

House District 96: Sue Scherer, 94%

House District 97: Harry Benton

House District 103: Carol Ammons, 94%

House District 111: Monica Bristow, 88%

House District 112: Katie Stuart, 100%

House District 113: Jay Hoffman, 100%

House District 114: LaToya Greenwood, 100%

House District 116: Nathan Reitz, 84%



Circuit Clerk: Katie Blakeman

Coroner: Chaundra Bishop

Treasurer: Cassandra “CJ” Johnson


State’s Attorney: Kim Foxx


Circuit Clerk: Cindy Svanda

Treasurer: Liz Hunter


County Board

Chair: Corrine Pierog

District 4: Mavis Bates



Coroner: Howard Cooper

County Board:

District 4: Gina Roberts

District 7: Carissa Casbon

District 13: Sandy Hart

District 16: Terry Wilke


Auditor: Joe Silkwood

Circuit Clerk: Amy Gabriel

Coroner: Steve Nonn

State’s Attorney: Crystal Uhe

County Board:

Chair: Robert Daiber

District 2: DeAnn Rizzi

District 18: Jack Minner

District 19: Dina Burch

District 20: Kristen Novacich-Koberna

District 27: Paul Rydgig


Auditor: Jessica Thomas

County Clerk: Rachael Parker

Coroner: Jamie Harwood


Circuit Clerk: Sherry Johnson

Rock Island

County Board: Edwin Langdon


County Board District 23: Kevin McGuire


Treasurer: Kristin Nicole Walrath

County Board:

District 1: James Duffy

District 2: Shaun Dowd



Executive: Jennifer Bertino-Tarrant

Coroner: Laurie Summers

County Board

District 1: Sherry Newquist

District 12: Erin Moncek

District 12: JoAnne Hamilton-Gunkel

District 13: Mica Freeman

District 13: Mark Ferry


State’s Attorney: Paul Carpenter

Board Chair: Joe Chiarelli

County Board:

District 4: Elizabeth Lindquist

District 17: Rob Young

District 19: Angela Fellars